David Wheatley
Aberdeen, UK

David Wheatley was born in Dublin in 1970, and teaches at the University of Aberdeen. He is the author of four collections of poetry with Gallery Press: Thirst (1997), Misery Hill (2000), Mocker (2006) and A Nest on the Waves (2010), and has edited the work of James Clarence Mangan for Gallery Press and Samuel Beckett’s Selected Poems 1930-1989 for Faber and Faber. His critical study Contemporary British Poetry is published by Palgrave in 2014. His other publications include a short book on pubs, Dark and True and Tender (CB Editions, 2012), and a poetic study of Scottish ‘avant-gardening’, The Reed Bunting Unseen: A Camouflage Garden for Ian Hamilton Finlay (Wild Honey Press, 2013). His writing has won various prizes, including the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Vincent Buckley Prize, and the Friends Provident (Irish) National Irish Poetry Competition.

Featured Reading

David Wheatley and Stephen Burt on October 17th, 2015:

Poets Similar to David Wheatley

All Poets